.

Review Committee Recommends Red House as Paramount Theater Manager

The Paramount review committee made its announcement during tonight's Peekskill Common Councill work session. The Common Council has yet to make its final decision.

The committee tasked with reviewing proposals for the management of the Paramount Center for the Arts announced its recommendation during tonight’s Peekskill Common Council work session.

Jason Angell, director of the Peekskill Business Improvement District and a member of the review  committee, announced that the group is recommending Red House Entertainment.

Red House Entertainment, along with the Tarrytown Music Hall and the Paramount Phoenix Group, presented their proposals during last week’s Common Council work session.

The Common Council still has to make a final decision before a management team is chosen.

The Paramount has been closed since October, after the original management group failed to reach its fundraising goals.

Check back for more information as this story develops.

Wendy Kelly February 20, 2013 at 12:54 AM
Yes, just as Peter Goodson said. Now we have a Methadone Clinic and Wizard of Oz statues what else could be better for Peekskill. Down Down We Go Peekskill!
joshua tanner February 20, 2013 at 01:21 AM
I don't mind the Oz stuff because it ties into something people know and like. The local art scene is ok for what it is but a lot of it is just pretty insipid - made worse by fact area is outside NYC. People have a lot of things to spend money on and the local arts scene isn't awash in dollars. I don't doubt the Red House people have talent and mean well I've just seen too much "local art scene" stuff here and other places. Its mostly second and third string stuff. it makes a little splash at first and then pfffft its gone - been there and done that.
leesther brown February 20, 2013 at 01:43 AM
Mayor and Clowncil Theme Song.... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nauLgZISozs
Leslie Lawler February 20, 2013 at 01:55 AM
Bravo, Ms. Brown, Bravo!!! Encore, Encore!
leesther brown February 20, 2013 at 01:56 AM
Don't want to leave nobody out..this is for them other folks.....#gopyoustillhere... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2itQkiQUOE
Mary Crescenzo February 20, 2013 at 02:09 AM
Tarrytown Music Hall also wanted to run Dramatic Hall. Is Red House going to allow local artists to be a part of the scene as well as the names they bring in?
Floyd Kitty February 20, 2013 at 02:14 AM
Not surprised, the fix was in all the time for Red House, foster and co. brought them in, the same way Jason A was brought into the BID. All these interviews are just to give an air of legitimacy. But we know the air around Mary F always smells like someone has let out gas.
Sol Miranda February 20, 2013 at 02:28 AM
If the local coalitions and alliances' members stay strong and united, we should be acknowledged and invited (ie, PAA, EMBARK, etc). I am sure individual artists and single companies will have opportunities once in a long while, but I don't want to believe we will settle for crumbs from the table. It is important to point out that we have many local artists that are professionals who moved here from NYC & other major cities who want to participate or are doing it already. Community theaters & dance companies are necessary and part of the fabric of this area. They have an audience. They serve amateur adults as well as youth, thus integrating the community.
Patty Villanova February 20, 2013 at 02:45 AM
There is very little room for error when it comes to getting the Paramount right. The theater has been the anchor store of the downtown "mall" for half a century and I'm sure the remaining businesses are suffering during the time it's been closed. I know firsthand from having my shop across the street just how urgent it is to have a functioning Paramount in town. I can't imagine how the businesses in the Flat Iron District are doing without it. I hope for all concerned that the chosen one can pull it off. Maybe there's room for collaboration among the finalists. There's a lot that needs to be done. Hard to believe that one small group has all the answers.
Earl John Powell February 20, 2013 at 02:47 AM
The Paramount ship has run aground. I say The Phoenix Group. One stark difference I see is that The Phoenix Group is the only one that has significant investments in their own community. It's also a diverse, deeply rooted and well equipped group to be the economic and cultural engine for Peekskill. Red House, pyrotechnics with 2,000 events per year, during their presentation, glossed over the fact that forty percent of Peekskill is Hispanic- that's a "tell". no fiber, no taste and no sensitivity to the nuances of Peekskill and it's potential market. "A tree shall be known by it's fruit". No roots, no fruit. The other two groups are like tumble weeds-not rooted IN and FOR Peekskill- they'll blow the way the economic winds blow, here today, gone tomorrow. The fix was in! We can ill afford to be apathetic about this critical decision-to be or not to be invested in ourselves for ourselves. Let's not be like Plato's Allegory Of The Cave and believe in our own shadows. "What's In Your Hands" in short, three things, God's gift to each one of us, our dollars and a ballot. A vote against Phoenix, is a vote against the good and talented people of Peekskill. We'll see if the decision makers will acquiesce to what appears to be the prevailing winds of a stench of Strange Fruit from some Up South Carpet Bagger. If the Council follows the recommendation, A significant amt of Peekskillians will vote them out! "A rising tide raises ALL ships"
Earl John Powell February 20, 2013 at 02:49 AM
My feelings exactly!
Collegenurse February 20, 2013 at 03:03 AM
May not agree with the gas part but it most definitely was fixed...how could you not go with the tarrytown music hall its a no brainer...they have national attention...i am so disappointed...7-8 more years i am out of here...
Floyd Kitty February 20, 2013 at 03:07 AM
Row well and live members of the common council, November is approaching
leesther brown February 20, 2013 at 03:43 AM
BS...Paramount Phoenix,nor Red House met the RFP requirements. This fix was in from the gate...I'm glad Arnie didn't get it,now I'm coming after you and him for that tape you made of me......#whatyouknowaboutjesus.....gotta re-phrase..in a legal kind of way...
shakemdown February 20, 2013 at 05:06 AM
tell them LEESTHER, come legit or don't come at all cause now you are in PEEKSKILL and we don't take no mess
leesther brown February 20, 2013 at 05:57 AM
@shakemdown..Ain't nothing these folks have done is legit. Now the very same munchkins that stomped the yard,created videos,put out petitions are feeling slighted!!....#suckers.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhjRUKCKIG4
Margaret Steele February 20, 2013 at 11:47 AM
I am totally shocked at this recommendation. Now is not the time to gamble Peekskill's future on a group that has never run a theater! Making grandiose plans and promises is very easy. Actually carrying them out is another story entirely. Putting on live events is not the same as running a theater. In fact, NOTHING is the same as running a theater. It's an art. And many, many fail - especially in this economy. This group would be learning on the job. It's a huge risk, with absolutely no guarantee of success. Yet one of the candidates already SUCCESSFULLY runs a theater in Westchester County. One of the things that impressed my about Tarrytown Music Hall's presentation was that they purposely didn't sugarcoat the situation and their proposal. Maybe they should have.
ken February 20, 2013 at 12:17 PM
Tarrytown Music is the way they should. They turned that theater into a successful one with a good mix of entertainment. The have procured grants over the past recent years. The Paramount is too valuable to Peekskill to gamble. A hybrid of profit/non profit?? The residents supported this venue, and now you will raise prices for their dedication??
Margaret Steele February 20, 2013 at 12:22 PM
I agree totally. There's far too much at stake to gamble on a grand experiment in on-the-job training.
Bjorn Olsson February 20, 2013 at 04:05 PM
Although we weren't allowed in the room during our competitor's presentations, we agree that Red House Management seems to have delivered a fantastic proposal, and all of us at The Music Hall wish them the best of luck, should the council ultimately pick them.
Robert D February 20, 2013 at 09:57 PM
Well I'm shocked that anyone is really surprised by this decision. After all there was no over-site or accountability in the past and we're headed that way again all be it at the expense of long time members and supporters of the Paramount like myself! (you still owe me $720 in canceled shows i purchased, how is that being resolved!) You allowed the unqualified, incompetent no-nothing Board of the Paramount to run it right into the ground despite two letters from me and countless warnings from many concerened members, that the inevitable was coming.This all started a little over a year after Jon Yanofsky left for Lincoln Center. When i went to the theater to speak directly to management i was meet with employee's who stated "i only work here" from all parties. When i asked for the Board Members names, phone numbers and email addresses so i could get to the bottom of why i didn't even get a response i was practically laughed at and told they could not give me that information.
Robert D February 20, 2013 at 09:58 PM
part 2 The theatre was wofully inept at every aspect of running a musical and cultural theatre, from overbearing security, forcing people to SIT at Rock and Blues shows, imaginge that,sitting at a concert, to the inability to sell beverages in timely fashion, not to mention stopping all beverage service including water at 9-9:15pm! Beverages have a mark-up of %1000! Yes thats right one thousand percent! (I know because i actually did buying for a substantially smaller private club, by buying from D. BERTOLINE & SONS INC from your own Peekskill. ie.. a can of Bud was 56 cents, and the theater was selling it for 6 dollars!) With the reopening of the Capitol Theatre in Portchester, Tarrytown Music Hall (where i grew up) to the wonderful Ridgefield Playhouse, sadly i'm affraid your gonna be out of luck. With all of the major bands playing these facilities, there is little chance they would also play here, and filling the larger theatre would be difficult. The lack of any marketing for the Paramount was disgraceful and showed no comitment at all. So lady's and gentlemen, i beg to differ with you, because its all about who you "book" and how often your having show's that people really want to see! You see, it's business 101 and it's all about the math, do the math people, or you'll be doing this all overagain very shortly!
Robert D February 20, 2013 at 09:58 PM
Leesther is right, according to the RFP, only Music Hall qualifies! Looks like more "back door deals", its Peekskill people, what did you expect. As far as public input from Business's, members, patrons and citizens, they dont want that they think they know best (how did that work out)! This whole process has been "fishy" from the get go. BTW I saw no mention of the fact that the sound system is useless for todays music concerts, major money people in addition to incificent power requirements for todays equipt. None of the members or patrons they owe money too or frequent the theatre were every contacted, thats a fact because i'm both. I find out about whats going on 2 days later when its in the paper. You would think they would seek input from all of us so we can avoid a repeat, but no! Finally if proposers arn't ready to step up and run the theatre as "a Business" then their proposal isn't worth the paper its written on! Wake up Peekskill, Rip Van Winkle finally did! Worst written RFP i've ever seen!
Ded Yorick February 20, 2013 at 10:23 PM
Maybe one of the statues could be the Tin Man with a needle coming out of his arm. He already has that zombified look anyway.
Robert D February 20, 2013 at 11:45 PM
Just watched all the presentations on Peekskill's website and here's the major issue why Music Hall isn't going to get the nod despite being the best suited by far, Scott Seltzer. Unfortunately he is the guy who took over for Jon and failed miserably, he failed to book acts people wanted to continue to see because of his own agenda and was "matter of fact about it". I know because i spoke to him on numerous occasions in his office about this. What he doesn't know is that i know a lot of the major bands managing and booking agents and they were the ones told me. He has burned too many bridges with bands and agents and boasted about it, that they wont go back, and most importantly he is the guy who was skimming front row seats and selling them to friends and friends of friends, i found out only because friends of mine began showing up to sold out shows in the front row (and not members) getting seats from him by paying cash for those seats at a local Tarrytown bar (Set Back inn).Too bad and sorry Bjorn, but truth must be told. i was rooting for you and am a long, long time member and supporter of TMH and a Sleepy Hollow native. That being said the Red House presentation was a joke. Unqualified bullet point nonsense and no specifics. (sort of like Obama's stick, baseless and NO MATHEMATICS)! btw non profit to offset profit, just a back door creative accounting on Red House's Plan and unrealistic. Need i say more people, really City Common Counsel, "rinky dink". No really!
shakemdown February 21, 2013 at 05:16 AM
good thing that they don't have a brain, cause if they did, they would be dangerous
Robert D February 21, 2013 at 03:23 PM
Cant we all just get along! Come on people, personal attacks arn't going to get us anywhere. Lets try to stick to the facts, and if we do get a chance to voice our opinions at a board meeting, we all have to show up with "real" questions based upon our sole interest of having the "old Paramount" back, thats all we want. Anyone who watches all of the presentations on Peekskill's web site would come to one conclusion, TMH is the only "realistic" proposal bar none. Red House's "pie in the sky" plans is just that and unrealistic, period! We would all like great concerts, wonerful plays, art shows, kids programing, community involvement, business improvement and "Partridge in a pear tree" ! Oh yea can i get a new Ferrari too! Problem is someone needs to pay for this stuff. After all, dont we "want to be the best venue in Westchester" Red House was a taylor made presentation with the help of the BID guy, i know, your shocked! As for Peekskill politics, couldn't tell you one thing about it, i live in a neighboring town, didn't even know there was a women Mayor. All i care about is getting our theatre back up and running on solid ground for the future. But i can see right through this one. Look at the submitted RFP's, no one in their right mind would pick Red House, the math doesn't work, the numbers are way off, they are "wishful" at best. All it does is give the City what they wanted and hoped to hear!
Bjorn Olsson February 21, 2013 at 09:43 PM
I have to stick up for Scott on this one. He was never the director of the Paramount, he did book shows under Jon Y and then some during the next two directors, I think. He booked a lot of the popular music and did a pretty good job too (I have the numbers), and basically provided the income to support a lot of the less box office friendly programming. He is also doing a really nice job for us in Tarrytown.
Kyle Baker March 03, 2013 at 05:52 PM
Way to hide behind a screen name Robert D. Below you say personal attacks aren't going to get us anywhere, but you're the jackass that attacked someone by name, that didn't deserve it. Scott Seltzer wasn't "in charge" at the paramount. How about you get your facts straight before you go accusing people off of things that you heard through the grapevine. Also, post a picture on your account so that next time we see you, we can all point and laugh. You're a pathetic internet troll.
MR DONT BE TOO LONG April 25, 2013 at 06:30 PM
VOTE THEM OUT. AND TELEPHONE THE CITY ATTORNEY, 'CAUSE THEY ARE PRESENTLY STRUCTURING THE LEASE AND ONE WOULD IMAGINE THE CITY ATTORNEY NEEDS YOUR HELP.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something