Hall of Fame to Honor Local Vets Next Month

Peekskill residents Brendon Fitzgerald and George Ondek will join Emanuel Uva, of Buchanan; William Nazario, of Corlandt; and Vincent Matero, of Croton-on-Hudson will be honored during the 2nd annual Veteran's Hall of Fame on March 2.

Editor's Note: The following announcement was submitted by the office of state Sen. Greg Ball, R-Patterson.  If you would like to post your news to Patch, click here.


Brewster, N.Y. —Senator Greg Ball (R,C,I - Patterson) today announced that the second annual Veterans’ Hall of Fame will be hosted at Henry H. Wells Middle School in Brewster on Saturday, March 2. at 6:00 p.m.. The hall of fame, which was originally scheduled for November 1st was moved due to Superstorm Sandy.

The Veterans’ Hall of Fame was created by Senator Ball, and designed to honor outstanding veterans throughout the 40th Senate District. Each veteran that will be honored will also be individually honored on a traveling wall that will tour local municipalities throughout the 40th district.

“I am excited to induct this 2nd class of heroes into our Veterans’ Hall of Fame! These men and women have been hand-picked by their communities because they chose a path of courage, honor, integrity and bravery; a path that helped shape America as we know it, protecting our way of life and liberty,” said Senator Greg Ball. “America is not a great country because of its politicians, it’s a great country because of our veterans.”

For more information about the event or to RSVP please contact Lindsay Goldstein at (845) 279-3773 or lgoldstein@ball4ny.com.

Click here to see the first class of veterans inducted into the Veterans’ Hall of Fame. The men and women that will be inducted into the 2nd class f veterans are:

menia: Stephen Valyou

Bedford: Guy E. Zinser

Beekman: James Tobin

Buchanan: Emanuel Uva

Carmel: Joseph F. Toleno

Cortlandt: William Nazario

Croton-On-Hudson: Vincent A. Matero

Dover: Baptist Joseph Bianco

Lewisboro: Raymond Stone

Mahopac Ladies Aux: Alyssa Dellaripa

Milan: Sam Lore

Mount Kisco: Santo Asaro

Mount Pleasant: Joseph Gullotta & Stephen Loia

New Castle: Gabriel Rosenfeld

North Salem: Joe Tyson

Northeast: Sid Byron

Patterson: Harvey Strode

Pawling (Village): Stan Mersand

Pawling (Town): Thomas Wichtendahl (Posthumously)

Pleasantville: Bert Ruiz

Peekskill: Brendon Fitzgerald & George Ondek

Pine Plains: John F. Ryan

Pound Ridge: Edward Lucas

Sleepy Hollow: Chick Galella

Somers: Richard Bertram & Jack Lederman

Southeast: Robert Palmer

Yorktown: Robert Perry (Posthumously) 


Wendy Kelly February 25, 2013 at 09:14 PM
Thank you Ladies and Gentleman for your years of service and for the freedom that we have today.
joshua tanner February 26, 2013 at 07:33 AM
Seems kind of a ploy for a voting district to have a Hall of Fame. I respect Vets and all but not ti use as some kind of schtick.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »